Home >> Awards


Excellence in Craft Contest

NOWA members compete annually in an Excellence in Craft contest. Members submit their best works in up to 25 categories for judging by independent, non-NOWA judges. Judges are professional writers and photographers from other areas and associations across the continent.

Winners are awarded their various prizes at the annual Awards Banquet held during the annual General Meeting.

Click here to download the Adobe Acrobat printable version of the Contest Entry Form.
Click here to download the Adobe Acrobat printable version of the Contest Entry Rules.
You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view this document. Get it here

Submit Your EIC Payment Online

Use the form below to submit your EIC payment

Excellence in Craft Winners for Work Completed in 2012

Column of the Year

Sponsor: Alpen Optics
1st Alan Liere -- "Scratches on the Wall" -- Deer Park Tribune
2nd  Duane Dungannon -- Oregon Hunter
3rd Ralph Shaw -- Comox Valley Record

Fishing Article in Media Other Than Newspaper

Sponsor: Boat US
1st Wayne Heinz -- "Grande Fall Fishing" -- Salmon and Steelhead Journal
2nd  Wayne Heinz -- "The Ugly Contest" -- Northwest Sportsman
3rd Gary Lewis -- "The Power of Pink" -- Fish Alaska

Fishing Article--Newspaper

Sponsor: TTI Blakemore Fishing Group[
1st  Gary Lewis -- "Flyfishing in the Foothills of the Andes" -- The Bend Bulletin
2nd  Gary Lewis -- "Spring, When Our Fancy Turns to Trout" -- The Bend Bulletin
3rd  Ralph Shaw -- "Experience Shows Lipstick Effect is Real" -- Comox Valley Record

Hunting/Shooting Article in Media Other Than Newspaper

Sponsor: Leupold & Stevens, Inc.
1st Terry Otto -- "Backward Glance" -- Oregon Hunter
2nd  Terry Otto -- "Washington's Whitetail Invasion" -- Washington-Oregon Game and Fish
3rd GI Wilson -- "The Last 25 Yards" -- Pheasants Forever

Hunting/Shooting Article--Newspaper

Sponsor: Bass Pro Shops
1st  Robert Phillips -- "Time to Face Down the Man-Eater" -- Yakima Herald-Republic
2nd  Robert Phillips -- "Newcomer Provides Fix for Hunters" -- Yakima Herald-Republic
3rd  Ralph Shaw-- "Deer Hunting Adventure Just East of Hwy 19" -- Comox Valley Herald

Travel/Camping/Recreation Article

Sponsor: Hells Canyon Visitor Bureau
1st Risa Wyatt -- "Cactus, Sand, and Skis" -- Chicago Tribune
2nd  Terry Wiest -- "Terrace--Land of 30 Rivers" -- Northern Routes
3rd Peter Schroeder -- "Water to Wine (Cruising the San Juans)" -- Boat US Magazine

Managing our World

Sponsor: Bass Pro Shops
1st Alan Liere -- "Better Off Skunked" -- Wyoming Wildlife
2nd  Troy Rodaakowski -- "Where Have All the Deer Gone?" -- Washington-Oregon Fish and Game
3rd  Mike McKenna -- "On the Rise--Again" -- Trout

Photography, People

Sponsor: NOWA
1st Gary Lewis -- "High Above the River" -- Cabela's Outdoor Journalv
2nd Terry Wiest-- "Midnight on the Nush" -- Steelhead University (book)
3rd Jeff Dunn -- "Blacktail Success" -- Northwest Sportsman

Photography, Fauna

Sponsor: Tec Laboratories
1st John C McFarland III -- "Hart Mountain Coyote" -- Oregon Hunter
2nd Jim Harris-- "Territorial Humingbirds" -- Southern Oregon
3rd Dennis Dauble -- "Redside--Learning to Raft the Deschutes" -- Washington-Oregon Game and Fish

Photography, Outdoors

Sponsor: Hunts Photo And Video
1st Michel Hersen -- "Palouse from Steptoe Butte" -- Amateur Photographer
2nd Michel Hersen-- "Mount Shuksan Reflected" -- Amateur Photographer
3rd Dave Vedder -- "Evil Lagoon" -- Sporting Classics


Sponsor: NOWA
1st  Terry Wiest -- Steelhead University -- Frank Amato Publications
2nd  Bob Mottram -- Anglers Guide to the West Coast: Salmon and Tuna -- Wilderness Adventure Press
3rd Craig Schuman -- Get Started Fly Fishing -- Frank Amato Publications


Sponsor: Lone Wolf Distributors, Inc.
1st Shannon FitzGerald -- "Fast Food" -- Oregon Hunter
2nd  Duane Dungannon -- "Emergency Landings" -- Oregon Hunter
3rd Wayne Heinz -- "Aluminism" -- Oregon Hunter


No entries

Video or Audiotape

Sponsor: ATK Ammunition Systems Group
1st Jeff Dunn -- "Seeking the One" -- Faith in the Field
2nd  John Kruse -- "Hunting Wolves, Bear, and Dave" -- Northwest Outdoors Radio
3rd Samuel Pyke -- "The Broom of God" -- Gary Lewis Outdoor Adventure Journal

Enos Bradner Award

The ENOS BRADNER AWARD was created by a vote of Northwest Outdoor Writers Association (NOWA) members to honor a person holding any class of membership in NOWA, and as a memorial to Enos Bradner.

Enos Bradner was outdoor editor of the Seattle Times for 26 years between 1943 and 1969. He died in January of 1984. Enos was a founding father of NOWA.

The Enos Bradner award recipient is chosen by the three most recent, past chairmen of the NOWA Board of Directors. Criteria for selection includes long time outstanding support of NOWA and upholding the high professional standards of outdoor journalism practiced by Enos Bradner. The three immediate past chairmen of the board of directors are not allowed to name one of themselves as winner.

The recipient is given a perpetual plaque, donated by Fred L. Peterson, to hold for one year on which the yearly winners‚ names are engraved. The winner is also given a smaller plaque, suitably inscribed, to keep.

The first recipient, in 1985, was Howard Gray, former OWAA president, founding member of NOWA and a close friend of Enos Bradner.

Enos Bradner Award winners are:

1985: Howard Gray
1986: Stan Jones
1987 :Milt Keizer
1988: Herb Williams
1989: Don Holm
1990: Fred L. Peterson
1991: Ed Park
1992: Doug Wilson
1993: Terry Sheely
1994: Gary Christenson
1995: Charles Summers
1996: Gwen Peterson
1997: Mildred Ericson

1998: Bob Mottram
1999: Francis Caldwell
2000: Bill Keil
2001: Denis Clay
2002: Henry Frew
2003: Dave Vedder
2004: Ron Kerr
2005: Jack McNeel
2006: Sue & Eric Hansen
2007: Scott Richmond
2008: Bill Monroe
2009: Gary Lewis
2010: No award
2011: Peter Schroeder

Fred Peterson Award

The FRED L. PETERSON AWARD was created as a memorial to Fred L. Peterson. Fred was the outdoor editor of the Spokesman Review in Spokane, Washington for 10 years, editor of the Fishing & Hunting News for 7 years, and the publisher of The Outdoor Press for 30 years. He died in 1995. Fred was a charter member of NOWA.

Fred worked extensively with the supporting members of NOWA in an effort to understand the outdoor products and services offered to his readers and other consumers. He knew the educational value supporting members provided to outdoor communications and the public.

As a result, The Fred L. Peterson Award is given each year to a NOWA Supporting Member that has demonstrated support for the outdoor media, made significant contributions to the outdoor education of the general public - with a special emphasis on youth - and best represents the ideals and ethical priciples of outdoor recreation and journalism as manifest in Fred L. Peterson's career. The recipient will be honored at the NOWA Annual Awards Banquet and given a suitably inscribed plaque.

Fred L. Peterson Award winners are:

1996: International Sportsmen's Expositions
1997: Yakima Bait Company
1998: Plano Molding Company
1999: Luhr Jensen & Sons
2000: Bushnell Sports Optics Worldwide
2001: National Shooting Sports Foundation
2002: Coleman Company Inc.
2003: Shakespeare Fishing Tackle
2004: Hells Canyon Visitor Association
2005: Flathead Convention & Visitor Bureau
2006: Dennis Phillips (The Walker Agency)
2007: DeLorme
2008: Remington (Freedom Group, Inc.)
2009: Leupold & Stevens, Inc.
2010: Lone Wolf Distributors, Inc.
2011: Camp Chef